A SAC (Special Agreement Check) is where an individual’s fingerprints are electronically submitted to OPM by an agency to run a criminal history check.

What type of investigation is a sac?

The level of background investigation commensurate with the level of access needed to perform the statement of work for this Construction requirement is a Special Agreement Check (SAC) investigation, which equates to fingerprinting.

How long is a sac valid for?

Periodic reinvestigation should be submitted every 10 years for a SECRET level clearance and every 15 years for a CONFIDENTIAL level clearance.

What is a single completed investigation?

A Single Scope Background Investigation (SSBI) is a type of security investigation conducted by the US Government to obtain a Top Secret (TS) clearance and access to Sensitive Compartmented Information (SCI). Standard Form 86 (SF86) is required to begin the background check process.

What are special agreement checks?

The SAC offers an alternative procedure that allows IS to obtain searches specifically tailored to its specific needs and includes: Security Agency Checks, FBI National Criminal History Checks and Law Enforcement Checks. IF uses the CAS for all pre-deadline investigations.

What can disqualify you from a government job?

In most cases, individuals tried in federal criminal courts are disqualified from government jobs. Crimes, such as fraud, embezzlement, and tax evasion, and similar white-collar offenses, are highly frowned upon.

What does a single scope background investigation consist of?

A Single Scope Background Investigation (SSBI) is a type of United States security clearance investigation. It involves investigators or agents interviewing past employers, coworkers and other individuals associated with the subject of the SSBI.

What disqualifies you for a secret clearance?

Financial Issues

Top secret clearance holders must have no significant financial concerns. If the background check reveals a considerable amount of debt, missed payments, tax evasion, collection judgments, check fraud, foreclosures, embezzlement or bankruptcies, your application might be rejected.

How often are security clearances investigated?

There are circumstances in which limited records checks or an investigation may be conducted on a spouse or cohabitant. How often is a security clearance renewed? An individual is normally subject to reinvestigation approximately every five years for a Secret or Top Secret clearance.

What does deferred investigation mean?

➢ Answer: Deferment refers to the process implemented by DoD, in July 2018, and currently being used by departments and agencies to permit the focus of investigative resources on the inventory of pending initial investigations.

What is a Tier 3 investigation?

T3 is the investigation required for positions designated as non-critical sensitive and/or requiring eligibility for “L” access or access to Confidential or Secret information. T3R is the reinvestigation product required for the same positions. The Standard Form (SF) 86 is used to conduct these investigations.

What is a Naclc investigation?

The National Agency Check with Law and Credit (NACLC) is a type of background check required in the U.S. for granting security clearance. The NACLC is used as the initial investigation for contractors at the Confidential, Secret, and L access levels.

What is a Naci background check?

The minimum investigation required for a Low Risk position is the National Agency Check with Inquiries (NACI), which entails a National Agency Check, law enforcement check, records search, credit check, and written inquiries of pervious/current employers, education, residence, and references.

How long does a Naci investigation take?

For me it took about 45 days of so. If someone you list though does not respond during the investigation, or the address is incorrect, it can definitely lengthen the process.

Can you fail a Naci?

Applicants for jobs with the Postal Service are not automatically disqualified if their criminal screenings or NACI checks fail, but the agency is supposed to follow documented procedure in actively seeking approval for those new hires in spite of those marks against them.

How do I check the status of my OPM investigation?

If the agency has submitted an investigation request on you, you can check the status of your case by calling 724-794-5612, extension 7000.

How long does an OPM background investigation take?

Currently the goal for a Non-Critical Sensitive position (or Confidential/Secret clearance) is 40 days, while the standard for a Critical Sensitive or Special Sensitive position (or Top Secret clearance) is 80 days.

Does OPM conduct background investigations?

WASHINGTON – President Trump signed an Executive Order that, in combination with the National Defense Authorization Act of 2018, section 925, shifts the primary responsibility for conducting background investigations for the federal government from the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) to the Department of Defense ( …

Is OPM still doing background investigations?

WASHINGTON, DC – The National Background Investigations Bureau (NBIB) has successfully transferred from the U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) to the Department of Defense (DoD). NBIB will take on the new name of the Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency (DCSA).

What companies do background investigations OPM?

On Monday OPM announced four indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity contract awards for work with the National Background Investigations Bureau. The companies are CACI Premier Technology, Keypoint Government Solutions, CSRA LLC and Securitas Critical Infrastructure Services.

How do I get a copy of my OPM investigation?

For an Office of Personnel Management (OPM) investigation request, write to OPM-CIS, FOIP, Post Office Box 618, Boyers, PA 16018-0618. You must include your full name, Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and you must sign your request. Visit the OPM website for additional information.

How will I know if my security clearance was approved?

You can check on your clearance three ways: Joint Personnel Adjudication System (JPAS) Security Investigations Index (SII) Call DoD at 1-888-282-7682.

What is a Tier 4 investigation?

(4) Tier 4 – Non-Sensitive High Risk (Public Trust) positions. (5) Tier 5 – Critical Sensitive positions requiring Top Secret, Sensitive Compartmented Information (SCI) Access Eligibility. 2.2 IMPLEMENTING INVESTIGATIONS.

What are the 5 levels of security clearance?


  • 3.2.1 Controlled Unclassified.
  • 3.2.2 Public Trust Position.
  • 3.2.3 Confidential.
  • 3.2.4 Secret.
  • 3.2.5 Top Secret.
  • 3.2.6 Compartmented.

What is a Tier 5 investigation?

A Tier 5 investigation is required for a Top Secret clearance, for DOE “Q” access authorization, or to hold a critical sensitive position. It is also required for all levels of access to Sensitive Compartmented Information (SCI) and some other Special Access Program (SAP) information.

What is a Tier 2 background investigation?

A FIS Tier 2 standard background investigation meets the suitability investigative requirement for non-sensitive positions designated as moderate risk public trust (requested using Standard Form 85P). Investigations conducted at Tiers 2-5 meet the minimum standard for an employee or contractor access to FTI.

What is the highest level of clearance?

Top secret clearance

What is the highest security clearance you can get? The federal government provides three levels of clearance: confidential, secret, and top secret. Top secret clearance is the highest security clearance level anyone can get. A candidate’s responsibilities determine the level of clearance granted.